About us


If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments, please send us an e-mail: postdoc@lbl.gov

BLPA board

The Berkeley Lab Postdoc Association (BLPA) is an organization that is run by, and for, postdocs, grad students, visiting members and early-career scientists at the Lawrence Berkeley National Lab (LBL). We aim at providing support, activities and building a network.

The board is made up of volunteers. We are always looking for new members, so please contact us if you have any questions or if you are considering to helping us out!

Board Members

Valentine Trotter
Bioscience Division
Co-chair, internal affairs

Louise Lassalle
Bioscience Division
Co-chair, relations with postdoc union

Roel Van Beeumen
Computational Research Division
Co-chair, postdoc orientation

Greg Su
Advanced Light Source

Jana Voriskova
Climate & Ecosystem Sciences

Hang Deng
Earth & Environmental Sciences


Antoine Wojdyla
Materials Sciences Division
Board of advice

Arnoud Everhardt
Materials Sciences Division, on campus
UC Berkeley relationships

Björn Enders
Advanced Light Source

Judit Oliver-Meseguer
Chemical Sciences
Outreach manager


Karol Kriszka

Robert Streubel
Materials Sciences Division
Relationships with National Postdoc Association


Supported by

Aaron Hammack (Relations with former postdocs – former LBNL postdoc, COO and founder of EpiBiome)
Brandon Krull (CRD)
Estelle Couradeau (Relations with offsite postdocs in JGI)
Etosha Cave (Relations with Cyclotron Road/Early Career scientists)
Joelle Schlapfer (Relations with offsite postdocs in JGI)
Kenneth Higa
Mengsu Hu
Nils Zimmermann
Protonu Basu
Ruimin Qiao
(Sports & activities)
Shan Dou
Sinead Griffin (Public relation officer)

Past members

Tetiana Shalapska (Materials Sciences Division), acting as a co-chair (November 2017)
Cameron Coates (Joint Genome Institute), acting as a co-chair, now with Zymergen (June 2016)
Jing Xu (Energy Technologies Area), acting as a co-chair
Jochen Thaeder (Particle Physics), responsible for Series X, now with CSC
Lydia Terborg (Energy Technologies Area), responsible for sponsorship, now with BMW
Juliane Mueller (Computational Research Division), now research scientist at Berkeley Lab
Dilip Vasudevan
Rose Abramoff
Jingjing Zhang
Seema Jamil (Relations with offsite postdocs in Biosciences)
Teresa Eaton

BLPA charter

The charter for the founding of BLPA can be found here.